Insights: Conversation with Antonio Pappano

After over 700 performances in 22 years as Music Director of the Royal House Covent Garden, Sir Antonio Pappano will bid farewell with a series of performances of Giordano’s Andrea Chenier, starring Jonas Kaufmann, Sondra Radvanovsky and Amartuvshin Enkhbat. During the rehearsal period, Pappano and Kaufmann met for another episode of the Insights discussion series. […]

La Gioconda, radio broadcast

While Anna Netrebko and Jonas Kaufmann are preparing for the next production of Ponchielli’s La Gioconda (at the Teatro San Carlo in Naples), ORF will broadcast the radio recording from the Salzburg Easter Festival production on Saturday, 6 April at 7:30pm. Antonio Pappano conducts the choir and orchestra of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia. […]

Press reviews

A recording of eternal valueSWR Kultur A recording that is amongst the finest Parsifals on disc.The Guardian Hard to imagine a better vocal cast … Jonas Kaufmann’s performance is breathtaking.Télérama Jonas Kaufmann’s Parsifal is also unique and unforgettable. … His metamorphosis in Act 2, when he understands his mission and tears himself away from Kundry’s […]

Remembrance service for Franz Beckenbauer

The remembrance service for star German soccer player Franz Beckenbauer was held at the Allianz Arena in Munich on Friday, January 19th. Jonas Kaufmann was invited to perform three pieces: Time to say Goodbye (in the Italian version Con te partiro) as well as E più ti penso and Nessun dorma. In a personal statement, Jonas […]

Ordre de la Légion d’honneur 

In the residence of the French Embassy in Austria, the Ambassador of the Republic of France, Prof. Dr. Gilles Pécout, presented Jonas Kaufmann with the Ordre de la Légion d’honneur with the rank of Knight on January 12, 2024. In his speech, Pécout said: “France honors a master of his craft who gives the French repertoire an […]

New Year’s Eve concert online and live in many cinemas

Wagner on New Year’s Eve: In the first part of the concert, Kirill Petrenko and the Berliner Philharmoniker perform the overture and bacchanal from Tannhäuser, followed by the first act of Die Walküre, with Vida Miknevičiūtė (Sieginde), Jonas Kaufmann (Siegmund) and Tobias Kehrer, who has taken over the role of Hunding for Georg Zeppenfeld, who […]

Turandot on television and radio

Lots of bravos at the Vienna State Opera: Asmik Grigorian in the title role, Jonas Kaufmann as Calaf and Kristina Mkhitaryan as Liu as well as the chorus and orchestra of the Vienna State Opera under the direction of Marco Armiliato received rapturous applause at the premiere of the new production of Puccini’s Turandot (December […]

Doppelgänger

The world premiere of Doppelganger in New York’s Park Avenue Armory – a staged version of Schubert’s Schwanengesang with Jonas Kaufmann and Helmut Deutsch and directed by Claus Guth – has been enthusiastically received by public and press. Here are some voices: ’Doppelganger’ is awesome experimental theater on a grand scale … There’s really nothing […]

Arena di Verona Gala Concert

For the centenary of the Verona Opera Festival, Jonas Kaufmann gave a gala concert in the Arena on August 20th. With his colleagues Sonya Yoncheva and Ludovic Tézier and accompanied by the Orchestra della Fondazione Arena di Verona conducted by Jochen Rieder, he performed arias and duets from Tosca, Otello and Andrea Chenier in the […]

Role debut “La Gioconda” in Sydney

On August 9th and 12th Jonas Kaufmann was heard at the Sydney Opera House in two concert performances of Ponchielli’s La Gioconda. This was his debut in the role of Enzo Grimaldi. His partners were Vitalij Kowaljow (Alvise), Agnieszka Rehlis (Laura), Saioa Hernández (Gioconda), the conductor Pinchas Steinberg (group photo from left to right). After […]

Insights: Gespräch mit Antonio Pappano

Nach über 700 Aufführungen in 22 Jahren als Musikdirektor des Royal House Covent Garden wird sich Sir Antonio Pappano mit einer Serie von Aufführungen von Giordanos Andrea Chenier verabschieden, mit Jonas Kaufmann, Sondra Radvanovsky und Amartuvshin Enkhbat in den Hauptrollen. Während der Probenzeit trafen sich Pappano und Kaufmann für eine weitere Folge der Gesprächs-Reihe Insights. […]

La Gioconda auf oe1

Während sich Anna Netrebko und Jonas Kaufmann für die nächste Produktion von Ponchiellis La Gioconda vorbereiten (am Teatro San Carlo in Neapel) bringt der ORF am Samstag, den 6. April ab 19:30 die Rundfunk-Aufzeichnung der Gioconda-Aufführung von den Osterfestspielen in Salzburg. Antonio Pappano leitet Chor und Orchester der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia. Foto: Osterfestspiele […]

Pressestimmen

Aufnahme mit EwigkeitswertSWR2 Klassik Grandiose Jahrhundert-EinspielungOperaversum Eine Aufnahme, die zu den besten des Werkes auf Platte gehört.The Guardian Man kann sich kaum eine bessere Gesangsbesetzung vorstellen … Jonas Kaufmanns Leistung ist atemberaubend.Télérama Jonas Kaufmanns Parsifal ist ebenfalls einzigartig und unvergesslich. … Seine Verwandlung im zweiten Akt, als er seine Mission versteht und sich von Kundrys […]

Gedenkfeier für Franz Beckenbauer

Bei der Gedenkfeier für Franz Beckenbauer, am 19. Januar in der Allianz Arena, hat Jonas Kaufmann drei Titel gesungen: Time to say Goodbye (in der italienischen Version Con te partiro) sowie E più ti penso und Nessun dorma. „Es ist mir eine Ehre zu dieser einzigartigen Gedenkfeier für Franz Beckenbauer einen Beitrag leisten zu dürfen“, […]

Ordre de la Légion d’honneur

In der Residenz der Französischen Botschaft in Österreich hat der Botschafter der Republik Frankreich, Prof. Dr. Gilles Pécout, am 12. Januar 2024 Jonas Kaufmann den französischen Orden der Ehrenlegion im Rang eines Ritters überreicht. In seiner Rede sagte Pécout u. a.: „Frankreich ehrt einen Meister seines Fachs, der dem französischen Repertoire einen wichtigen Platz auf […]

Silvesterkonzert online und live im Kino

Wagner zu Silvester: Im ersten Teil des Konzerts bringen Kirill Petrenko und die Berliner Philharmoniker Ouvertüre und Bacchanal aus Tannhäuser zu Gehör, nach der Pause folgt der Erste Akt der Walküre, mit Vida Miknevičiūtė (Sieginde), Jonas Kaufmann (Siegmund) und Tobias Kehrer, der für den erkrankten Georg Zeppenfeld die Partie des Hunding übernommen hat. Das Konzert […]

Turandot in Funk und Fernsehen

Bravochöre an der Wiener Staatsoper: Bei der Premiere der Neuproduktion von Puccinis Turandot (7. Dezember, Regie: Claus Guth) wurden Asmik Grigorian in der Titelpartie, Jonas Kaufmann als Calaf und Kristina Mkhitaryan als Liu sowie Chor und Orchester der Wiener Staatsoper unter der Leitung von Marco Armiliato stürmisch gefeiert. Die Aufführung wird am 16. Dezember ab […]

Otello auf ORF III

Die Aufführungen von Verdis Otello, die Ende Oktober, Anfang November an der Wiener Staatsoper stattfanden, wurden vom Publikum mit Standing Ovations gefeiert. Die von Alexander Soddy dirigierte Serie wurde vom ORF aufgezeichnet, die Ausstrahlung findet am Sonntag, den 19. November im Rahmen von Erlebnis Bühne auf ORF III ab 20:15 statt. Vorher sind die drei […]

Doppelgänger

Doppelgänger, Claus Guths szenische Version von Schuberts Schwanengesang mit Jonas Kaufmann und Helmut Deutsch, erstmals aufgeführt in der New Yorker Park Avenue Armory, wurde von Publikum und Presse enthusiastisch aufgenommen. Hier sind einige Stimmen: ‚Doppelganger‘ ist eindrucksvolles experimentelles Theater im großen Stil … Derzeit gibt es wirklich nichts Vergleichbares in New York.“Theatermania „die theatralische Kraft […]

Galakonzert in der Arena di Verona

Zur Hundertjahrfeier der Opernfestspiele in Verona gab Jonas Kaufmann am 20. August ein Galakonzert in der Arena. Mit seinen Bühnenpartnern Sonya Yoncheva und Ludovic Tézier und begleitet vom Orchestra della Fondazione Arena di Verona unter der Leitung von Jochen Rieder war er im ersten Teil mit Arien und Duetten aus Tosca, Otello und Andrea Chenier […]